Background Images | BBCode Testing Forum | TORN
Background Images
    • Triplicant [2037705]
    • Role: Civilian
    • Level: 92
    • Posts: 10487
    • Karma: 24340
    • Last Action: 3 months
      • 0
    • Reason:
      Are you sure you want to report this post to staff?
      Cancel
    Thread created on 12:16:09 - 24/01/20 (2 years ago)
    |
    Last replied 00:25:56 - 03/02/20 (2 years ago)
    I just spent WAY too long on the old editor for my faction, getting it to look like 



    Using This Image as my background.

    I feel like there isn't a way to do the same type of background image magic in the BBCode editor, but I am shite at coding, so I ma here, asking y'all;

    Can you do background images in a post?
    Last edited by Triplicant on 12:16:17 - 24/01/20

    • Triplicant [2037705]
    • Role: Civilian
    • Level: 92
    • Posts: 10487
    • Karma: 24340
    • Last Action: 3 months
      • 0
    • Reason:
      Are you sure you want to report this post to staff?
      Cancel
    Posted on 13:12:26 - 24/01/20 (2 years ago)
    Post link copied to clipboard Copy post link
    https://i.imgur.com/8tLki4j.jpg

    • JustJanet [911066]
    • Role: Civilian
    • Level: 90
    • Posts: 7096
    • Karma: 12922
    • Last Action: 11 hours
      • 0
    • Reason:
      Are you sure you want to report this post to staff?
      Cancel
    Posted on 15:54:17 - 24/01/20 (2 years ago)
    Post link copied to clipboard Copy post link
    One Halloween I spent hours taking all the stuff I had on my profile and layering it on top of a background image. I broke it up into three separate pieces that all ran together. I did it for Christmas that year too and then never again. That’s the only way I know to do it.

    • Triplicant [2037705]
    • Role: Civilian
    • Level: 92
    • Posts: 10487
    • Karma: 24340
    • Last Action: 3 months
      • 0
    • Reason:
      Are you sure you want to report this post to staff?
      Cancel
    Posted on 22:57:24 - 24/01/20 (2 years ago)
    Post link copied to clipboard Copy post link

    JustJanet [911066]

    One Halloween I spent hours taking all the stuff I had on my profile and layering it on top of a background image. I broke it up into three separate pieces that all ran together. I did it for Christmas that year too and then never again. That’s the only way I know to do it.
    Profiles currently use the old editor though, and it seems the new editor does not allow for background images. 

    I hate the new editor. It's so...lacking. This is a BASIC FRIGGIN FEATURE.

    • JustJanet [911066]
    • Role: Civilian
    • Level: 90
    • Posts: 7096
    • Karma: 12922
    • Last Action: 11 hours
      • 0
    • Reason:
      Are you sure you want to report this post to staff?
      Cancel
    Posted on 02:11:48 - 25/01/20 (2 years ago)
    Post link copied to clipboard Copy post link
    Well what I’m suggesting is to just do everything outside of the editor. Take all the images you want and layer them into one picture so that what you want in the background is in the background of the images you want upfront. Just make it one image.

    like this. Hang on while I make something.

    • JustJanet [911066]
    • Role: Civilian
    • Level: 90
    • Posts: 7096
    • Karma: 12922
    • Last Action: 11 hours
      • 0
    • Reason:
      Are you sure you want to report this post to staff?
      Cancel
    Posted on 02:19:27 - 25/01/20 (2 years ago)
    Post link copied to clipboard Copy post link



    So all I did was choose my background and then layer items on top of it.
    Last edited by JustJanet on 02:20:47 - 25/01/20

    • Triplicant [2037705]
    • Role: Civilian
    • Level: 92
    • Posts: 10487
    • Karma: 24340
    • Last Action: 3 months
      • 0
    • Reason:
      Are you sure you want to report this post to staff?
      Cancel
    Posted on 02:32:35 - 25/01/20 (2 years ago)
    Post link copied to clipboard Copy post link

    JustJanet [911066]




    So all I did was choose my background and then layer items on top of it.
    I like it! Except mine has moving components, and clickable image-links...which doesn't at all work as a static image :(

    • GokuBlack [2115907]
    • Role: Civilian
    • Level: 100
    • Posts: 2204
    • Karma: 5400
    • Last Action: 1 hour
      • 0
    • Reason:
      Are you sure you want to report this post to staff?
      Cancel
    Posted on 03:25:48 - 25/01/20 (2 years ago)
    Post link copied to clipboard Copy post link
    I honestly don't know a way to change the background in bbc. Like even the color, let alone with some type of image file with clicky ma bobs and componetized linkamajos. This is all nonsensical foolish voodoo wizardry Trip. Give up this endeavor and move along to something based in reality!

    f68LVWx.png

    • JustJanet [911066]
    • Role: Civilian
    • Level: 90
    • Posts: 7096
    • Karma: 12922
    • Last Action: 11 hours
      • 0
    • Reason:
      Are you sure you want to report this post to staff?
      Cancel
    Posted on 03:27:12 - 25/01/20 (2 years ago)
    Post link copied to clipboard Copy post link

    JustJanet [911066]




    So all I did was choose my background and then layer items on top of it.

    Triplicant [2037705]

    I like it! Except mine has moving components, and clickable image-links...which doesn't at all work as a static image :(
    Ohhh... well aren’t you extra!?

    • Triplicant [2037705]
    • Role: Civilian
    • Level: 92
    • Posts: 10487
    • Karma: 24340
    • Last Action: 3 months
      • 0
    • Reason:
      Are you sure you want to report this post to staff?
      Cancel
    Posted on 04:08:46 - 25/01/20 (2 years ago)
    Post link copied to clipboard Copy post link

    GokuBlack [2115907]

    I honestly don't know a way to change the background in bbc. Like even the color, let alone with some type of image file with clicky ma bobs and componetized linkamajos. This is all nonsensical foolish voodoo wizardry Trip. Give up this endeavor and move along to something based in reality!
    I can do it in the old editor though :(

    • Helcostr [1934501]
    • Role: Wiki Editor
    • Level: 15
    • Posts: 2798
    • Karma: 1380
    • Last Action: 1 hour
      • 0
    • Reason:
      Are you sure you want to report this post to staff?
      Cancel
    Posted on 21:21:45 - 02/02/20 (2 years ago)
    Post link copied to clipboard Copy post link
    i tried doing the most basic thing in bbcode: bg color. aurel shot me down immediately while he was recovering one of my html posts :(

    so this is a feature request now, not an existing feature
    • Helcostr [1934501]
    • Role: Wiki Editor
    • Level: 15
    • Posts: 2798
    • Karma: 1380
    • Last Action: 1 hour
      • 0
    • Reason:
      Are you sure you want to report this post to staff?
      Cancel
    Posted on 21:27:25 - 02/02/20 (2 years ago)
    Post link copied to clipboard Copy post link

    JustJanet [911066]




    So all I did was choose my background and then layer items on top of it.

    Triplicant [2037705]

    I like it! Except mine has moving components, and clickable image-links...which doesn't at all work as a static image :(
    to build on the precomposition idea, painfully split the image into clickable and non clickable components (static and moving sections as well if u want to save space), add the images into the page so they sit seamlessly, and linkify the clickable portions...

    yikes
    Last edited by Helcostr on 21:28:33 - 02/02/20
    • Triplicant [2037705]
    • Role: Civilian
    • Level: 92
    • Posts: 10487
    • Karma: 24340
    • Last Action: 3 months
      • 0
    • Reason:
      Are you sure you want to report this post to staff?
      Cancel
    Posted on 00:25:56 - 03/02/20 (2 years ago)
    Post link copied to clipboard Copy post link

    JustJanet [911066]




    So all I did was choose my background and then layer items on top of it.

    Triplicant [2037705]

    I like it! Except mine has moving components, and clickable image-links...which doesn't at all work as a static image :(

    Helcostr [1934501]

    to build on the precomposition idea, painfully split the image into clickable and non clickable components (static and moving sections as well if u want to save space), add the images into the page so they sit seamlessly, and linkify the clickable portions...

    yikes
    Big yikes :')

Reply
Thread Title: