[APP] Torn PDA - Page 52 | Tools & Userscripts | TORN
[APP] Torn PDA
    • ThunderBlitz [2684774]
    • Role: Civilian
    • Level: 24
    • Posts: 245
    • Karma: 66
    • Last Action: 3 hours
      • 0
    • Reason:
      Are you sure you want to report this post to staff?
      Cancel
    Posted on 09:53:00 - 31/05/22 (2 months ago)
    Post link copied to clipboard Copy post link

    TwistedRusso [2665392]

    SUGGESTION

    Tiny niggle: revive "toggle" on hosp screen cycles off, everyone, friends and faction. By the time I got to F&F only, I'd been revived - I have friends who want the rev skill raise! Would be good to change order to none, F&F, all?

    Thanks for the amazing app :)

    Manuito [2225097]

    Thanks for the feedback.

    The problem is that, as I understand them, as per the rules it'd have to be a key in the hospital web page (not just a key in Torn PDA). I might be wrong, but other than that, it's technically possible.
    This is something I've been hoping for as well, seems a bit backwards the way it currently is, to be blunt X-D as 'off : friends/faction : everyone' just seems more logical.

    Anyway, yeah, if it's not likely to be changed in the website, then a workaround would be cool. :-D
    • ThunderBlitz [2684774]
    • Role: Civilian
    • Level: 24
    • Posts: 245
    • Karma: 66
    • Last Action: 3 hours
      • 0
    • Reason:
      Are you sure you want to report this post to staff?
      Cancel
    Posted on 10:12:12 - 31/05/22 (2 months ago)
    Post link copied to clipboard Copy post link
    Also, the reason I came back here:

    Is there a known issue between the PDA app (both internal main browsers) & the Google Forms website?

    Every time I open 1 of those, the app becomes almost unusable until it ultimately shuts itself down (not always, sometimes it stabilises, I think it might be partially related to the amount of content on a page/tab, if there's only a couple lines it stabilises, if there are more then it crashes...just a theory*).

    I know the app can't seem to handle too many tabs (more than 4 or 5) open at once, so I've tried it even when it's the only tab open (other than the default one) and this still happens.

    Just floating it as something that could do with looking at (assuming it hasn't been already)... :-)

    All other external websites I've opened inside those browsers have functioned with no issues, which is why I believe it's a specific issue with Google Forms...yet, just about everyone on here uses it, oy... X-D

    * theory blown out the water! It seems the tabs that were previously stabilising, are now also crashing the app (except the default tab of the GF page I'm currently using, which always seems to stabilise, at least long enough for me to attempt to view another tab). It's happened a number of times since I started using the PDA app (different GF pages, created by different people). I don't normally use Google websites in my daily life, try to use much safer/more stable alternatives wherever possible, so, hopefully I'm not the only person suffering here... X-D
    Last edited by ThunderBlitz on 10:30:46 - 31/05/22
    • Manuito [2225097]
    • Role: Committee
    • Level: 76
    • Posts: 526
    • Karma: 822
    • Last Action: 1 day
      • 0
    • Reason:
      Are you sure you want to report this post to staff?
      Cancel
    Posted on 15:16:59 - 31/05/22 (2 months ago)
    Post link copied to clipboard Copy post link

    ThunderBlitz [2684774]

    This is something I've been hoping for as well, seems a bit backwards the way it currently is, to be blunt X-D as 'off : friends/faction : everyone' just seems more logical.

    Anyway, yeah, if it's not likely to be changed in the website, then a workaround would be cool. :-D
    Sorry, I believe I wasn't understanding this request correctly, but I think I do now after this comment. In any case, I don't think this is possible; I've been testing a bit and it seems the call made internally in the website just toggles from one to the next, but there is no way to change the order or activate one without doing a whole cycle. I guess this is something that would need to be changed in the source (Torn).
    Last edited by Manuito on 15:17:06 - 31/05/22
    • Manuito [2225097]
    • Role: Committee
    • Level: 76
    • Posts: 526
    • Karma: 822
    • Last Action: 1 day
      • 0
    • Reason:
      Are you sure you want to report this post to staff?
      Cancel
    Posted on 15:20:45 - 31/05/22 (2 months ago)
    Post link copied to clipboard Copy post link

    ThunderBlitz [2684774]

    Also, the reason I came back here:

    Is there a known issue between the PDA app (both internal main browsers) & the Google Forms website?

    Every time I open 1 of those, the app becomes almost unusable until it ultimately shuts itself down (not always, sometimes it stabilises, I think it might be partially related to the amount of content on a page/tab, if there's only a couple lines it stabilises, if there are more then it crashes...just a theory*).

    I know the app can't seem to handle too many tabs (more than 4 or 5) open at once, so I've tried it even when it's the only tab open (other than the default one) and this still happens.

    Just floating it as something that could do with looking at (assuming it hasn't been already)... :-)

    All other external websites I've opened inside those browsers have functioned with no issues, which is why I believe it's a specific issue with Google Forms...yet, just about everyone on here uses it, oy... X-D

    * theory blown out the water! It seems the tabs that were previously stabilising, are now also crashing the app (except the default tab of the GF page I'm currently using, which always seems to stabilise, at least long enough for me to attempt to view another tab). It's happened a number of times since I started using the PDA app (different GF pages, created by different people). I don't normally use Google websites in my daily life, try to use much safer/more stable alternatives wherever possible, so, hopefully I'm not the only person suffering here... X-D
    Hi. What app version and platform are you currently using? I've been testing with v2.8.1 (beta) and I don't have this issue (on Android). I'd appreciate if you PM me with a few (public) examples of Google Forms where you are having this issue.
    • Manuito [2225097]
    • Role: Committee
    • Level: 76
    • Posts: 526
    • Karma: 822
    • Last Action: 1 day
      • 0
    • Reason:
      Are you sure you want to report this post to staff?
      Cancel
    Posted on 15:22:25 - 31/05/22 (2 months ago)
    Post link copied to clipboard Copy post link

    Marbroza [388408]

    Updated my Samsung a32 yesterday, since then the in app browser is all kinds of screwey, Its resolution is way off.

    Any way that I can adjust it?
    Yes. This is a known problem with Samsung devices (not just affecting Torn PDA, but many other apps where a native webview is used).

    In Torn PDA you can long-press the "Close" button if you are using the quick browser (or tap the title bar if you are using the full browser) and use the zoom functionality. Please note that you might need to press the +/- buttons several times to see a change.
    • ThunderBlitz [2684774]
    • Role: Civilian
    • Level: 24
    • Posts: 245
    • Karma: 66
    • Last Action: 3 hours
      • 0
    • Reason:
      Are you sure you want to report this post to staff?
      Cancel
    Posted on 17:52:28 - 31/05/22 (2 months ago)
    Post link copied to clipboard Copy post link

    ThunderBlitz [2684774]

    Also, the reason I came back here:

    Is there a known issue between the PDA app (both internal main browsers) & the Google Forms website?

    Every time I open 1 of those, the app becomes almost unusable until it ultimately shuts itself down (not always, sometimes it stabilises, I think it might be partially related to the amount of content on a page/tab, if there's only a couple lines it stabilises, if there are more then it crashes...just a theory*).

    I know the app can't seem to handle too many tabs (more than 4 or 5) open at once, so I've tried it even when it's the only tab open (other than the default one) and this still happens.

    Just floating it as something that could do with looking at (assuming it hasn't been already)... :-)

    All other external websites I've opened inside those browsers have functioned with no issues, which is why I believe it's a specific issue with Google Forms...yet, just about everyone on here uses it, oy... X-D

    * theory blown out the water! It seems the tabs that were previously stabilising, are now also crashing the app (except the default tab of the GF page I'm currently using, which always seems to stabilise, at least long enough for me to attempt to view another tab). It's happened a number of times since I started using the PDA app (different GF pages, created by different people). I don't normally use Google websites in my daily life, try to use much safer/more stable alternatives wherever possible, so, hopefully I'm not the only person suffering here... X-D

    Manuito [2225097]

    Hi. What app version and platform are you currently using? I've been testing with v2.8.1 (beta) and I don't have this issue (on Android). I'd appreciate if you PM me with a few (public) examples of Google Forms where you are having this issue.
    Err... I'm using 2.8.0, not seeing any updates just now so I'm guessing it's not released (sometimes beta versions are released :-) )?

    I no longer have links to previous ones I've used, last one was maybe 3 months ago but, the current laggy one is the LossesRUs form:

    https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1E4MoUzt4raWwhBtew0GwQqsuSdcBncInSycN39IjUDo/htmlview

    A bit short on time so, apologies for throwing it up here. I can try to be a bit more communicative later, if you're not having the same issue.

    Oh and, it's Android 10 I'm using just now, specifically Realme 1 (based on ColourOS 7, I believe...) on the Realme 7 5G.
    • under_radar [2133965]
    • Role: Civilian
    • Level: 25
    • Posts: 138
    • Karma: 30
    • Last Action: 6 minutes
      • 0
    • Reason:
      Are you sure you want to report this post to staff?
      Cancel
    Posted on 18:31:01 - 31/05/22 (2 months ago)
    Post link copied to clipboard Copy post link

    under_radar [2133965]

    When playing torn as usually, yesterday rorn pda told me that notifications are turned off due to inactivity. But I'm quite active... And they indeed stopped working. Is this an app thing or os thing(android)? How can I fix that?

    Manuito [2225097]

    That's because you haven't used Torn PDA for a week or so. Have you? It's independent from your logins in Torn.
    I have used torn pda all that time. Today it said the same.
    • under_radar [2133965]
    • Role: Civilian
    • Level: 25
    • Posts: 138
    • Karma: 30
    • Last Action: 6 minutes
      • 0
    • Reason:
      Are you sure you want to report this post to staff?
      Cancel
    Posted on 18:35:45 - 31/05/22 (2 months ago)
    Post link copied to clipboard Copy post link
    Btw. Just a remark. During last weekend and ranked war the torn pda was sadly slow and crashing frequently. I suspected network quality, but switched to chrome web browser and there torn was fast. I have tried clearing app cache, but it didn't help. After the weekend things returned to normal, where torn pda is just slower, but playable. Can't explain this, just sharing the experience. I could help debugging this, but don't have tools, I'm afraid.
    • Manuito [2225097]
    • Role: Committee
    • Level: 76
    • Posts: 526
    • Karma: 822
    • Last Action: 1 day
      • 0
    • Reason:
      Are you sure you want to report this post to staff?
      Cancel
    Posted on 06:38:18 - 01/06/22 (2 months ago)
    Post link copied to clipboard Copy post link

    ThunderBlitz [2684774]

    Err... I'm using 2.8.0, not seeing any updates just now so I'm guessing it's not released (sometimes beta versions are released :-) )?

    I no longer have links to previous ones I've used, last one was maybe 3 months ago but, the current laggy one is the LossesRUs form:

    https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1E4MoUzt4raWwhBtew0GwQqsuSdcBncInSycN39IjUDo/htmlview

    A bit short on time so, apologies for throwing it up here. I can try to be a bit more communicative later, if you're not having the same issue.

    Oh and, it's Android 10 I'm using just now, specifically Realme 1 (based on ColourOS 7, I believe...) on the Realme 7 5G.
    Hi. Thanks for that. I've tried that in my device and it seems to be working properly. It's definitely not as fast as when using the Google Forms app, but I wouldn't say it's slow either. It's not crashing the app. I'll see if I can test with a lower version of Android.

    Beta versions are not made public (although v2.8.1 should be releasing shortly). It's not that I made specific changes in it for this issue, but as packages upgrades you sometimes get a better performance.
    Last edited by Manuito on 06:39:08 - 01/06/22
    • Manuito [2225097]
    • Role: Committee
    • Level: 76
    • Posts: 526
    • Karma: 822
    • Last Action: 1 day
      • 0
    • Reason:
      Are you sure you want to report this post to staff?
      Cancel
    Posted on 06:43:27 - 01/06/22 (2 months ago)
    Post link copied to clipboard Copy post link

    under_radar [2133965]

    I have used torn pda all that time. Today it said the same.
    Well, then there is something preventing the app from correctly updating your user. I'm not aware of other users having this issue (at least nothing that has been reported). Could you try a couple of things...?

    - Reload your API key in Settings. Just click reload, don't remove it (or you'll lose some settings).
    - Go to Alerts and use the hammer icon at the top to retrieve the last server configuration for automatic alerts.

    Please let me know if it keeps happening after this.
    • Manuito [2225097]
    • Role: Committee
    • Level: 76
    • Posts: 526
    • Karma: 822
    • Last Action: 1 day
      • 0
    • Reason:
      Are you sure you want to report this post to staff?
      Cancel
    Posted on 06:52:22 - 01/06/22 (2 months ago)
    Post link copied to clipboard Copy post link

    under_radar [2133965]

    Btw. Just a remark. During last weekend and ranked war the torn pda was sadly slow and crashing frequently. I suspected network quality, but switched to chrome web browser and there torn was fast. I have tried clearing app cache, but it didn't help. After the weekend things returned to normal, where torn pda is just slower, but playable. Can't explain this, just sharing the experience. I could help debugging this, but don't have tools, I'm afraid.
    I get this behavior as well sometimes during weekends while chaining, but closing and reopening the browser normally fixes it. It's certainly nothing that Torn PDA is introducing (the app is independent, not using any external server except for Alerts), but the background work in retrieving information from the API is probably not helping. Userscripts and other browser widget can delay things a bit if some html elements take longer to load (when Torn gets a bit slower). I'm just explaining things a bit; I'm trying to improve it with every version, so any feedback is certainly appreciated.
    • under_radar [2133965]
    • Role: Civilian
    • Level: 25
    • Posts: 138
    • Karma: 30
    • Last Action: 6 minutes
      • 0
    • Reason:
      Are you sure you want to report this post to staff?
      Cancel
    Posted on 12:12:57 - 02/06/22 (2 months ago)
    Post link copied to clipboard Copy post link

    under_radar [2133965]

    Btw. Just a remark. During last weekend and ranked war the torn pda was sadly slow and crashing frequently. I suspected network quality, but switched to chrome web browser and there torn was fast. I have tried clearing app cache, but it didn't help. After the weekend things returned to normal, where torn pda is just slower, but playable. Can't explain this, just sharing the experience. I could help debugging this, but don't have tools, I'm afraid.

    Manuito [2225097]

    I get this behavior as well sometimes during weekends while chaining, but closing and reopening the browser normally fixes it. It's certainly nothing that Torn PDA is introducing (the app is independent, not using any external server except for Alerts), but the background work in retrieving information from the API is probably not helping. Userscripts and other browser widget can delay things a bit if some html elements take longer to load (when Torn gets a bit slower). I'm just explaining things a bit; I'm trying to improve it with every version, so any feedback is certainly appreciated.
    Thank you, I appreciate your feedback and all the work.
    I followed your instructions and clicked on hammer icon. The effect is that i receive notifications twice, like for approaching destination. I could do something wrong, as I was a bit lost in alerts and events settings (don't they overLap e.g. for racing?)
    Not a big deal, but slightly confusing.
    Btw I still observe occassional crashes.
    • Manuito [2225097]
    • Role: Committee
    • Level: 76
    • Posts: 526
    • Karma: 822
    • Last Action: 1 day
      • 0
    • Reason:
      Are you sure you want to report this post to staff?
      Cancel
    Posted on 13:28:41 - 02/06/22 (2 months ago)
    Post link copied to clipboard Copy post link

    under_radar [2133965]

    Btw. Just a remark. During last weekend and ranked war the torn pda was sadly slow and crashing frequently. I suspected network quality, but switched to chrome web browser and there torn was fast. I have tried clearing app cache, but it didn't help. After the weekend things returned to normal, where torn pda is just slower, but playable. Can't explain this, just sharing the experience. I could help debugging this, but don't have tools, I'm afraid.

    Manuito [2225097]

    I get this behavior as well sometimes during weekends while chaining, but closing and reopening the browser normally fixes it. It's certainly nothing that Torn PDA is introducing (the app is independent, not using any external server except for Alerts), but the background work in retrieving information from the API is probably not helping. Userscripts and other browser widget can delay things a bit if some html elements take longer to load (when Torn gets a bit slower). I'm just explaining things a bit; I'm trying to improve it with every version, so any feedback is certainly appreciated.

    under_radar [2133965]

    Thank you, I appreciate your feedback and all the work.
    I followed your instructions and clicked on hammer icon. The effect is that i receive notifications twice, like for approaching destination. I could do something wrong, as I was a bit lost in alerts and events settings (don't they overLap e.g. for racing?)
    Not a big deal, but slightly confusing.
    Btw I still observe occassional crashes.
    It might be that the alerts were not working properly. Were you manually activating the notifications? If so, you might be receiving the manually-activated notifications and the automatic alerts (thy don't normally occur at the same time, but with a few seconds or minutes of difference).

    Regarding the crashes, I'm not really sure why they happen to you. I'm planning on releasing v2.8.1 in the next few days, I hope it can improve the stability.
    • Manuito [2225097]
    • Role: Committee
    • Level: 76
    • Posts: 526
    • Karma: 822
    • Last Action: 1 day
      • 0
    • Reason:
      Are you sure you want to report this post to staff?
      Cancel
    Posted on 20:40:02 - 02/06/22 (2 months ago)
    Post link copied to clipboard Copy post link
    [RELEASED v2.8.1]

    - Browser: added Bounties filter widget
    - War: targets in a different country can now be filtered out
    - War: red (not-okay) targets can now be filtered out
    - War: factions can now be added from the Ranked Wars list
    - War: added persistence to filters
    - Fixed targets hospitalized in another country not showing as abroad
    - Fixed issue when sorting war targets by life
    • Sir-Craigery [1503025]
    • Role: Civilian
    • Level: 73
    • Posts: 105
    • Karma: 4
    • Last Action: 2 minutes
      • 0
    • Reason:
      Are you sure you want to report this post to staff?
      Cancel
    Posted on 00:19:49 - 03/06/22 (2 months ago)
    Post link copied to clipboard Copy post link
    When I added a faction to chaining targets for war, when I hide targets they don’t stay hid when I refresh or switch filters
    • Hannu [222525]
    • Role: Civilian
    • Level: 100
    • Posts: 237
    • Karma: 6
    • Last Action: 19 minutes
      • 0
    • Reason:
      Are you sure you want to report this post to staff?
      Cancel
    Posted on 03:20:01 - 03/06/22 (2 months ago)
    Post link copied to clipboard Copy post link
    Hello Manuito.

    I'm not sure if it's my device or the app but when I'm in Torn PDA and switch apps to discord for example and then back to Torn PDA it always freezes and crashes.
    This also occurs if i just minimise the app and open it up again.

    This problem started to occur on V2.8.0 and still does in the latest version 2.8.1.

    My device is a Xiaomi Redmi 8 with Android 10.

    Edit: Looks like i fixed it by rebooting my phone, probably some bug in MIUI OS killing apps aggressively.
    All good and thanks for your work with Torn PDA.
    Last edited by Hannu on 03:54:59 - 03/06/22

    PmxQfjk.png

    • Manuito [2225097]
    • Role: Committee
    • Level: 76
    • Posts: 526
    • Karma: 822
    • Last Action: 1 day
      • 0
    • Reason:
      Are you sure you want to report this post to staff?
      Cancel
    Posted on 12:27:12 - 03/06/22 (2 months ago)
    Post link copied to clipboard Copy post link

    Sir-Craigery [1503025]

    When I added a faction to chaining targets for war, when I hide targets they don’t stay hid when I refresh or switch filters
    Thanks, this is getting fixed today with v2.8.2
    • Manuito [2225097]
    • Role: Committee
    • Level: 76
    • Posts: 526
    • Karma: 822
    • Last Action: 1 day
      • 0
    • Reason:
      Are you sure you want to report this post to staff?
      Cancel
    Posted on 12:28:34 - 03/06/22 (2 months ago)
    Post link copied to clipboard Copy post link
    [RELEASED v2.8.2]

    Note: this version adds a hotfix over v2.8.1 to ensure war targets persistence. It is recommended to update to v2.8.2 as soon as practicable if you are using v2.8.1 (which was released today). You can check in the About section.

    - Browser: added Bounties filter widget
    - War: targets in a different country can now be filtered out
    - War: red (not-okay) targets can now be filtered out
    - War: factions can now be added from the Ranked Wars list
    - War: added persistence to filters
    - Fixed targets hospitalized in another country not showing as abroad
    - Fixed issue when sorting war targets by life
    • Bumegg [2653946]
    • Role: Civilian
    • Level: 50
    • Posts: 49
    • Karma: 2
    • Last Action: 6 hours
      • 0
    • Reason:
      Are you sure you want to report this post to staff?
      Cancel
    Posted on 19:43:35 - 06/06/22 (2 months ago)
    Post link copied to clipboard Copy post link
    I've only noticed this today while flying non stop but 
    when I reload tornpda the company and faction chat is green as if I have a new message but its something I already read
    • mOW [1612611]
    • Role: Civilian
    • Level: 82
    • Posts: 942
    • Karma: 17
    • Last Action: 4 hours
      • 0
    • Reason:
      Are you sure you want to report this post to staff?
      Cancel
    Posted on 21:09:04 - 07/06/22 (2 months ago)
    Post link copied to clipboard Copy post link
    I’ve noticed on my iPhone with the past couple versions that whenever I open Torn PDA and then have it open any page with the in-app browser, it takes forever to load (like almost 30 seconds).

    Sometimes the app crashes while loading, but if/when the page finally loads, I can click around through Torn normally without any slowness.


    I’ve also tried restarting my phone to no avail.
    Last edited by mOW on 21:10:09 - 07/06/22
Reply
Thread Title: