Car wont start, sometimes ! | Motoring | TORN
Car wont start, sometimes !
    • Blin [2028034]
    • Role: Civilian
    • Level: 90
    • Posts: 721
    • Karma: 439
    • Last Action: 8 hours
      • 0
    • Reason:
      Are you sure you want to report this post to staff?
      Cancel
    Thread created on 17:55:23 - 14/01/17 (7 years ago)
    |
    Last replied 01:57:15 - 05/03/17 (6 years ago)
    Hi guys, just want some opinions about my recent problem, i cant start my car, sometimes. It doesnt even crank. This car was manufactured in year 1999, automatic transmission.

    Let me tell you this in an orderly fashion, its zen chronology. Aha
    • Car wont start, i figure out it is the battery. Try to jumpstart and it worked. I changed the battery later on.
    • Car won't start, new battery, I guessed its the starter. I give it a nice hit with a hammer, and it worked. I changed the starter later on.
    • Car wont start. My friend said that my shift stick might slide upon R an not on P or N, so thats why i cant start the engine. I wobble the shift stick and I can start the engine.
    • My car cant start again. Im running out of idea. Tried all the thing i did before. Nothing. No crank noise when i try to ignite. Honk, lamp, radio, all working. New battery, new starter. I cant even start when i put my gear to N
    So what do you guys thinks?

    • Blin [2028034]
    • Role: Civilian
    • Level: 90
    • Posts: 721
    • Karma: 439
    • Last Action: 8 hours
      • 0
    • Reason:
      Are you sure you want to report this post to staff?
      Cancel
    Posted on 17:59:33 - 14/01/17 (7 years ago)
    Post link copied to clipboard Copy post link
    The "somtimes" in the title is because, it happen in a very random time. I can start the car, and when i drove to the shop and stop for like 5 min, and i try to start the car again, that is when it happen.
    Last edited by Blin on 16:09:28 - 15/01/17

    • Jobby [1640111]
    • Role: Civilian
    • Level: 100
    • Posts: 3013
    • Karma: 1573
    • Last Action: 3 hours
      • 0
    • Reason:
      Are you sure you want to report this post to staff?
      Cancel
    Posted on 11:14:27 - 17/01/17 (7 years ago)
    Post link copied to clipboard Copy post link
    Does it 'click' when you try to turn it over? It sounds a litthe like the alternators fecked
    • McDallas [14757]
    • Role: Civilian
    • Level: 93
    • Posts: 8148
    • Karma: 8294
    • Last Action: 6 hours
      • 0
    • Reason:
      Are you sure you want to report this post to staff?
      Cancel
    Posted on 00:02:51 - 31/01/17 (7 years ago)
    Post link copied to clipboard Copy post link

    Jobby [1640111]

    Does it 'click' when you try to turn it over? It sounds a litthe like the alternators fecked
    I reckoned alternator, but he says he changed the battery again and still won't start. A new battery would start it if it were the alternator.
    • saeed [1826888]
    • Role: Civilian
    • Level: 100
    • Posts: 1032
    • Karma: 755
    • Last Action: 2 hours
      • 0
    • Reason:
      Are you sure you want to report this post to staff?
      Cancel
    Posted on 16:35:02 - 14/02/17 (7 years ago)
    Post link copied to clipboard Copy post link
    necro but

    could be the ignition switch. (where you put the key in)

    could be that when you try starting, it doesn't properly complete the circuit. happens in old cars a lot.



    source: i'm a mechanic
    • Blin [2028034]
    • Role: Civilian
    • Level: 90
    • Posts: 721
    • Karma: 439
    • Last Action: 8 hours
      • 0
    • Reason:
      Are you sure you want to report this post to staff?
      Cancel
    Posted on 14:32:41 - 17/02/17 (7 years ago)
    Post link copied to clipboard Copy post link

    saeed [1826888]

    necro but

    could be the ignition switch. (where you put the key in)

    could be that when you try starting, it doesn't properly complete the circuit. happens in old cars a lot.



    source: i'm a mechanic
    i changed the ignition switch, i works. thank you saeed :D

    • saeed [1826888]
    • Role: Civilian
    • Level: 100
    • Posts: 1032
    • Karma: 755
    • Last Action: 2 hours
      • 0
    • Reason:
      Are you sure you want to report this post to staff?
      Cancel
    Posted on 17:55:16 - 17/02/17 (7 years ago)
    Post link copied to clipboard Copy post link

    saeed [1826888]

    necro but

    could be the ignition switch. (where you put the key in)

    could be that when you try starting, it doesn't properly complete the circuit. happens in old cars a lot.



    source: i'm a mechanic

    Blin [2028034]

    i changed the ignition switch, i works. thank you saeed :D
    awesome :)

    congratulations on it workin gagain :D
    • Blin [2028034]
    • Role: Civilian
    • Level: 90
    • Posts: 721
    • Karma: 439
    • Last Action: 8 hours
      • 0
    • Reason:
      Are you sure you want to report this post to staff?
      Cancel
    Posted on 20:02:44 - 23/02/17 (6 years ago)
    Post link copied to clipboard Copy post link

    saeed [1826888]

    necro but

    could be the ignition switch. (where you put the key in)

    could be that when you try starting, it doesn't properly complete the circuit. happens in old cars a lot.



    source: i'm a mechanic

    Blin [2028034]

    i changed the ignition switch, i works. thank you saeed :D

    saeed [1826888]

    awesome :)

    congratulations on it workin gagain :D
    It happen again. We add cable with relay from battery straight to the starter this time. I hope it wont happen again  :/

    • saeed [1826888]
    • Role: Civilian
    • Level: 100
    • Posts: 1032
    • Karma: 755
    • Last Action: 2 hours
      • 0
    • Reason:
      Are you sure you want to report this post to staff?
      Cancel
    Posted on 20:11:46 - 23/02/17 (6 years ago)
    Post link copied to clipboard Copy post link

    saeed [1826888]

    necro but

    could be the ignition switch. (where you put the key in)

    could be that when you try starting, it doesn't properly complete the circuit. happens in old cars a lot.



    source: i'm a mechanic

    Blin [2028034]

    i changed the ignition switch, i works. thank you saeed :D

    saeed [1826888]

    awesome :)

    congratulations on it workin gagain :D

    Blin [2028034]

    It happen again. We add cable with relay from battery straight to the starter this time. I hope it wont happen again :/
    It seems like a wire from your ignition switch to wherever it connects to the starter is broken somewhere.
    • rtdx1886 [2046477]
    • Role: Civilian
    • Level: 1
    • Posts: 38
    • Karma: 0
    • Last Action: 6 years
      • 0
    • Reason:
      Are you sure you want to report this post to staff?
      Cancel
    Posted on 20:58:27 - 23/02/17 (6 years ago)
    Post link copied to clipboard Copy post link
    The motor probably can't handle a lot of weight



    Probably burst your tires, check



    Try driving in the direction of gravity (downhill) instead
    Last edited by rtdx1886 on 21:01:00 - 23/02/17
    • Blin [2028034]
    • Role: Civilian
    • Level: 90
    • Posts: 721
    • Karma: 439
    • Last Action: 8 hours
      • 0
    • Reason:
      Are you sure you want to report this post to staff?
      Cancel
    Posted on 11:08:57 - 24/02/17 (6 years ago)
    Post link copied to clipboard Copy post link

    rtdx1886 [2046477]

    The motor probably can't handle a lot of weight



    Probably burst your tires, check



    Try driving in the direction of gravity (downhill) instead
    I'll change both front tire to the smaller one. Hope it'll produce the downhill slope for the body as you propose. Thanks for the tips!

    • Interceptor [2046945]
    • Role: Civilian
    • Level: 37
    • Posts: 245
    • Karma: 26
    • Last Action: 3 years
      • 0
    • Reason:
      Are you sure you want to report this post to staff?
      Cancel
    Posted on 06:20:16 - 02/03/17 (6 years ago)
    Post link copied to clipboard Copy post link
    No cranking but you have power?
    • Interceptor [2046945]
    • Role: Civilian
    • Level: 37
    • Posts: 245
    • Karma: 26
    • Last Action: 3 years
      • 0
    • Reason:
      Are you sure you want to report this post to staff?
      Cancel
    Posted on 06:21:20 - 02/03/17 (6 years ago)
    Post link copied to clipboard Copy post link
    And when you wired it direct, it worked?
    • Blin [2028034]
    • Role: Civilian
    • Level: 90
    • Posts: 721
    • Karma: 439
    • Last Action: 8 hours
      • 0
    • Reason:
      Are you sure you want to report this post to staff?
      Cancel
    Posted on 14:00:24 - 03/03/17 (6 years ago)
    Post link copied to clipboard Copy post link

    Interceptor [2046945]

    And when you wired it direct, it worked?
    Yes for both of your question

    • Interceptor [2046945]
    • Role: Civilian
    • Level: 37
    • Posts: 245
    • Karma: 26
    • Last Action: 3 years
      • 0
    • Reason:
      Are you sure you want to report this post to staff?
      Cancel
    Posted on 01:57:15 - 05/03/17 (6 years ago)
    Post link copied to clipboard Copy post link
    Check your solenoid, it's problably working when it wants to,had a similar problem with my Amx and check your grounds too
Reply
Thread Title: