Linux Users - Page 3 | Technology | TORN
Linux Users
    • Blake [2159903]
    • Role: Civilian
    • Level: 15
    • Posts: 3863
    • Karma: 669
    • Last Action: 9 minutes
      • 0
    • Reason:
      Are you sure you want to report this post to staff?
      Cancel
    Posted on 01:49:53 - 16/07/22 (6 months ago)
    Post link copied to clipboard Copy post link
    Is Torn playable on Linux

    • Jaxtra [2658631]
    • Role: Civilian
    • Level: 63
    • Posts: 27
    • Karma: 9
    • Last Action: 1 minute
      • 0
    • Reason:
      Are you sure you want to report this post to staff?
      Cancel
    Posted on 06:43:35 - 17/07/22 (6 months ago)
    Post link copied to clipboard Copy post link

    Blake [2159903]

    Is Torn playable on Linux
    Yes, no problem, all you need is a browser, and both firefox and chrome is available on linux (and a lot of other browsers too).
    • Blake [2159903]
    • Role: Civilian
    • Level: 15
    • Posts: 3863
    • Karma: 669
    • Last Action: 9 minutes
      • 0
    • Reason:
      Are you sure you want to report this post to staff?
      Cancel
    Posted on 13:33:59 - 17/07/22 (6 months ago)
    Post link copied to clipboard Copy post link

    Blake [2159903]

    Is Torn playable on Linux

    Jaxtra [2658631]

    Yes, no problem, all you need is a browser, and both firefox and chrome is available on linux (and a lot of other browsers too).
    I downloaded Brave cuz I thought only Chromium (not Chrome) was available.

    • Princess-Lana [2627396]
    • Role: Civilian
    • Level: 50
    • Posts: 745
    • Karma: 1099
    • Last Action: 1 day
      • 0
    • Reason:
      Are you sure you want to report this post to staff?
      Cancel
    Posted on 11:32:46 - 05/08/22 (5 months ago)
    Post link copied to clipboard Copy post link
    Recently swapped over from Artix over to KDE Neon user edition (Plasma 5.25). 
    Artix started giving me trouble a few months ago after an update (Black screen at login). Also getting the nvidia Prime working on the Artix KDE distro was a pain.
    I am very happy with Neon, does anyone else use it?
    So far no issues, using Opera Browser with chrome extensions.
    Also using Neon for Minecraft with Fabric mods and for playing Veloren.
    Seems much more stable than artix and also just as fast.
    • TechGirl [2805810]
    • Role: Civilian
    • Level: 31
    • Posts: 125
    • Karma: 66
    • Last Action: 37 minutes
      • 0
    • Reason:
      Are you sure you want to report this post to staff?
      Cancel
    Posted on 13:42:43 - 12/08/22 (5 months ago)
    Post link copied to clipboard Copy post link

    Blake [2159903]

    Is Torn playable on Linux

    Jaxtra [2658631]

    Yes, no problem, all you need is a browser, and both firefox and chrome is available on linux (and a lot of other browsers too).

    Blake [2159903]

    I downloaded Brave cuz I thought only Chromium (not Chrome) was available.
    Chrome is available. I use Mint which is Debian based. Go to Chrome's site and download the .deb
    • Wolfhunt3r [2096603]
    • Role: Civilian
    • Level: 79
    • Posts: 110
    • Karma: 53
    • Last Action: 2 hours
      • 0
    • Reason:
      Are you sure you want to report this post to staff?
      Cancel
    Posted on 22:51:22 - 05/09/22 (4 months ago)
    Post link copied to clipboard Copy post link
    I use Windows on my private (main) computer since I do gaming.

    On my laptop I have a distro called Parrot OS (based on Debian) and at work I use Kali Linux (based on Debian also).

    Banner

    • WhiteRaven [2692544]
    • Role: Civilian
    • Level: 40
    • Posts: 85
    • Karma: 31
    • Last Action: 14 minutes
      • 0
    • Reason:
      Are you sure you want to report this post to staff?
      Cancel
    Posted on 20:04:19 - 11/09/22 (4 months ago)
    Post link copied to clipboard Copy post link
    Raspian os on raspberry pi 4.

    • BiTfYpRo [2645169]
    • Role: Civilian
    • Level: 24
    • Posts: 168
    • Karma: 23
    • Last Action: 4 hours
      • 0
    • Reason:
      Are you sure you want to report this post to staff?
      Cancel
    Posted on 21:24:36 - 15/09/22 (4 months ago)
    Post link copied to clipboard Copy post link

    Blake [2159903]

    Is Torn playable on Linux

    Jaxtra [2658631]

    Yes, no problem, all you need is a browser, and both firefox and chrome is available on linux (and a lot of other browsers too).

    Blake [2159903]

    I downloaded Brave cuz I thought only Chromium (not Chrome) was available.

    TechGirl [2805810]

    Chrome is available. I use Mint which is Debian based. Go to Chrome's site and download the .deb
    Indirectly yeah, but vanilla Mint is Ubuntu-based. LMDE, however, is Debian-based.
    • TechGirl [2805810]
    • Role: Civilian
    • Level: 31
    • Posts: 125
    • Karma: 66
    • Last Action: 37 minutes
      • 0
    • Reason:
      Are you sure you want to report this post to staff?
      Cancel
    Posted on 14:26:50 - 21/09/22 (4 months ago)
    Post link copied to clipboard Copy post link

    BiTfYpRo [2645169]

    Indirectly yeah, but vanilla Mint is Ubuntu-based. LMDE, however, is Debian-based.
    Mint is Ubuntu based, and Ubuntu is Debian based. LMDE is directly Debian based, removing Ubuntu completely. Either way you go it's all Debian based and my suggestion works no matter which version of Mint you use.
    • oraN [1778676]
    • Role: Reporter
    • Level: 100
    • Posts: 17439
    • Karma: 41701
    • Last Action: Now
      • 0
    • Reason:
      Are you sure you want to report this post to staff?
      Cancel
    Posted on 14:46:17 - 26/09/22 (4 months ago)
    Post link copied to clipboard Copy post link

    Wolfhunt3r [2096603]

    I use Windows on my private (main) computer since I do gaming.

    On my laptop I have a distro called Parrot OS (based on Debian) and at work I use Kali Linux (based on Debian also).
    Parrot is actually pretty good I've had the pleasure to work with it for 2 weeks on a replacement laptop, If I wasn't attached to Arch & AUR i'd be using it.

    https://i.oran.pw/images/pYkoX.png

    • Neo-Politan [276835]
    • Role: Civilian
    • Level: 93
    • Posts: 789
    • Karma: 628
    • Last Action: 24 minutes
      • 0
    • Reason:
      Are you sure you want to report this post to staff?
      Cancel
    Posted on 01:51:15 - 29/09/22 (4 months ago)
    Post link copied to clipboard Copy post link
    Linux Mint is my favorite "Just Works" distro and is 100% what I'd recommend to newcomers. I like the cinnamon desktop environment, and think KDE also has a lot going for it.

    For something more recent without the extreme bleeding edge of Arch, I'll go with Fedora KDE spin

    Whenever I get monitors that are all the same size, I'll try out i3wm or other tiling wm
    • Elon [2803679]
    • Role: Civilian
    • Level: 30
    • Posts: 286
    • Karma: 281
    • Last Action: 2 months
      • 0
    • Reason:
      Are you sure you want to report this post to staff?
      Cancel
    Posted on 03:08:47 - 01/10/22 (4 months ago)
    Post link copied to clipboard Copy post link
    My work more or less forces me to use Windows. I do run a Kali VM on my personal computer and Debian LTS on most of my (virtual) servers. I love tinkering with it.
    • Elon [2803679]
    • Role: Civilian
    • Level: 30
    • Posts: 286
    • Karma: 281
    • Last Action: 2 months
      • 0
    • Reason:
      Are you sure you want to report this post to staff?
      Cancel
    Posted on 03:10:04 - 01/10/22 (4 months ago)
    Post link copied to clipboard Copy post link

    Blake [2159903]

    Is Torn playable on Linux
    Hell yes!
    • Tuxington [2571279]
    • Role: Civilian
    • Level: 87
    • Posts: 149
    • Karma: 74
    • Last Action: 1 hour
      • 0
    • Reason:
      Are you sure you want to report this post to staff?
      Cancel
    Posted on 03:52:07 - 01/10/22 (4 months ago)
    Post link copied to clipboard Copy post link
    For my homelab 3 out of 4 of my servers run FreeBSD (truenas and pfsense) and my proxmox server is debian. But most of my VM's in my homelab are RPM based (Fedora Server/AlmaLinux). Think I have one odd Debian server in there.

    My work laptop is Linux and my personal desktop is running Pop OS (because it just works). I run a Windows VM on my desktop with VFIO passthrough for any gaming needs.

    My personal laptop is Windows only because when it was new it didn't have great Linux support and I don't use it all that often so haven't tried Linux on it again.

    I love Linux :)
    Last edited by Tuxington on 03:53:02 - 01/10/22
    • oraN [1778676]
    • Role: Reporter
    • Level: 100
    • Posts: 17439
    • Karma: 41701
    • Last Action: Now
      • 0
    • Reason:
      Are you sure you want to report this post to staff?
      Cancel
    Posted on 04:03:58 - 01/10/22 (4 months ago)
    Post link copied to clipboard Copy post link
     

    5+ year old system, had over 3000 packages got them all down to the nice number without breaking anything. can easily do 100+ tabs on chromium while having notion codeoss discord terminal with ssh to my server and ~10 docker containers running at the same time. On win10/MacOS this would be impossible lol

    https://i.oran.pw/images/pYkoX.png

    • Princess-Lana [2627396]
    • Role: Civilian
    • Level: 50
    • Posts: 745
    • Karma: 1099
    • Last Action: 1 day
      • 0
    • Reason:
      Are you sure you want to report this post to staff?
      Cancel
    Posted on 23:46:26 - 12/10/22 (3 months ago)
    Post link copied to clipboard Copy post link
    Yup, Linux is the future.
    Everything Microsoft touches turns brown.
    • mavri [2402357]
    • Role: Civilian
    • Level: 83
    • Posts: 555
    • Karma: 893
    • Last Action: 18 minutes
      • 0
    • Reason:
      Are you sure you want to report this post to staff?
      Cancel
    Posted on 16:39:18 - 13/10/22 (3 months ago)
    Post link copied to clipboard Copy post link

    oraN [1778676]



    5+ year old system, had over 3000 packages got them all down to the nice number without breaking anything. can easily do 100+ tabs on chromium while having notion codeoss discord terminal with ssh to my server and ~10 docker containers running at the same time. On win10/MacOS this would be impossible lol
    Obligatory neofetch screenshot as well (I have a lot of things opened ignore the RAM usage):

    • Illusive_ [2757057]
    • Role: Civilian
    • Level: 18
    • Posts: 10
    • Karma: 3
    • Last Action: 1 day
      • 0
    • Reason:
      Are you sure you want to report this post to staff?
      Cancel
    Posted on 17:41:56 - 13/10/22 (3 months ago)
    Post link copied to clipboard Copy post link
    Laptops/Desktop Win11, My server I have been using TrueNAS + Ubuntu in a VM

    -----------------------------------

    PGP_Key @ illusive.info

    • mitza [2549762]
    • Role: Civilian
    • Level: 100
    • Posts: 418
    • Karma: 582
    • Last Action: 1 hour
      • 0
    • Reason:
      Are you sure you want to report this post to staff?
      Cancel
    Posted on 18:54:02 - 13/10/22 (3 months ago)
    Post link copied to clipboard Copy post link

    oraN [1778676]



    5+ year old system, had over 3000 packages got them all down to the nice number without breaking anything. can easily do 100+ tabs on chromium while having notion codeoss discord terminal with ssh to my server and ~10 docker containers running at the same time. On win10/MacOS this would be impossible lol

    mavri [2402357]

    Obligatory neofetch screenshot as well (I have a lot of things opened ignore the RAM usage):

    i use arch btw

    • Biggles [1665757]
    • Role: Civilian
    • Level: 100
    • Posts: 452
    • Karma: 739
    • Last Action: 1 minute
      • 0
    • Reason:
      Are you sure you want to report this post to staff?
      Cancel
    Posted on 21:43:10 - 13/10/22 (3 months ago)
    Post link copied to clipboard Copy post link
    I met a guy through work the other day who is a Slackware user!

    Sorry, lmftfm, I met a guy who is THE Slackware user!
Reply
Thread Title: