[Script] Racing UI/UX Enhancements - Page 6 | Racing | TORN
[Script] Racing UI/UX Enhancements
    • Lugburz [2386297]
    • Role: Civilian
    • Level: 68
    • Posts: 760
    • Karma: 1167
    • Last Action: 7 minutes
      • 0
    • Reason:
      Are you sure you want to report this post to staff?
      Cancel
    Posted on 21:46:54 - 07/09/21 (4 months ago)
    Post link copied to clipboard Copy post link

    Hasnain_Zoom [2667754]

    Amazing script!! Can you also add total racing points ever earned on the main page, somewhere around the racing skill?
    Thanks!

    You mean "Racing points earned", that is displayed in the personal stats?
    You see, I don't know if it will add a lot of value... The thing is, the points earned number is only important while you are climbing through classes. Once you've reached class A, you start spending all your points on upgrading cars. Once you have a few fully upgraded cars, you stop paying attention, your points are just lying there. I honestly don't know how many spare points I have. The points earned number becomes irrelevant.

    I've just looked it up - my number is 5,651. What does it give me if I see it on my home page?
    Last edited by Lugburz on 21:51:35 - 07/09/21
    • Prezze [2121612]
    • Role: Civilian
    • Level: 16
    • Posts: 1754
    • Karma: 3591
    • Last Action: 2 hours
      • 0
    • Reason:
      Are you sure you want to report this post to staff?
      Cancel
    Posted on 21:53:17 - 07/09/21 (4 months ago)
    Post link copied to clipboard Copy post link

    Hasnain_Zoom [2667754]

    Amazing script!! Can you also add total racing points ever earned on the main page, somewhere around the racing skill?

    Lugburz [2386297]

    Thanks!

    You mean "Racing points earned", that is displayed in the personal stats?
    You see, I don't know if it will add a lot of value... The thing is, the points earned number is only important while you are climbing through classes. Once you've reached class A, you start spending all your points on upgrading cars. Once you have a few fully upgraded cars, you stop paying attention, your points are just lying there. I honestly don't know how many spare points I have. The points earned number becomes irrelevant.

    I've just looked it up - my number is 5,651. What does it give me if I see it on my home page?
    I think some people might like to see their daily point gain or daily rs gains (if possible)

    tF0XQF9.jpeg

    • Lugburz [2386297]
    • Role: Civilian
    • Level: 68
    • Posts: 760
    • Karma: 1167
    • Last Action: 7 minutes
      • 0
    • Reason:
      Are you sure you want to report this post to staff?
      Cancel
    Posted on 22:07:30 - 07/09/21 (4 months ago)
    Post link copied to clipboard Copy post link

    Hasnain_Zoom [2667754]

    Amazing script!! Can you also add total racing points ever earned on the main page, somewhere around the racing skill?

    Lugburz [2386297]

    Thanks!

    You mean "Racing points earned", that is displayed in the personal stats?
    You see, I don't know if it will add a lot of value... The thing is, the points earned number is only important while you are climbing through classes. Once you've reached class A, you start spending all your points on upgrading cars. Once you have a few fully upgraded cars, you stop paying attention, your points are just lying there. I honestly don't know how many spare points I have. The points earned number becomes irrelevant.

    I've just looked it up - my number is 5,651. What does it give me if I see it on my home page?

    Prezze [2121612]

    I think some people might like to see their daily point gain or daily rs gains (if possible)
    This is an interesting idea!
    Daily gain could keep accumulating throughout the day and be displayed as (currentRS - lastRSRecordedYesterday).

    I was concerned that displaying racing points would require user's API key, but is seems this data is part of the payload that the client requests when opening the racing page.
    • Hasnain_Zoom [2667754]
    • Role: Civilian
    • Level: 35
    • Posts: 182
    • Karma: 229
    • Last Action: Now
      • 0
    • Reason:
      Are you sure you want to report this post to staff?
      Cancel
    Posted on 08:57:47 - 08/09/21 (4 months ago)
    Post link copied to clipboard Copy post link

    Hasnain_Zoom [2667754]

    Amazing script!! Can you also add total racing points ever earned on the main page, somewhere around the racing skill?

    Lugburz [2386297]

    Thanks!

    You mean "Racing points earned", that is displayed in the personal stats?
    You see, I don't know if it will add a lot of value... The thing is, the points earned number is only important while you are climbing through classes. Once you've reached class A, you start spending all your points on upgrading cars. Once you have a few fully upgraded cars, you stop paying attention, your points are just lying there. I honestly don't know how many spare points I have. The points earned number becomes irrelevant.

    I've just looked it up - my number is 5,651. What does it give me if I see it on my home page?
    It would be helpful for us who are trying to climb through racing classes of just trying to hold onto a racing class. I guess the biggest point is utility because everyime I have to check my racing points I have to go to personal stats.
    • Lugburz [2386297]
    • Role: Civilian
    • Level: 68
    • Posts: 760
    • Karma: 1167
    • Last Action: 7 minutes
      • 0
    • Reason:
      Are you sure you want to report this post to staff?
      Cancel
    Posted on 15:00:34 - 14/09/21 (4 months ago)
    Post link copied to clipboard Copy post link

    Hasnain_Zoom [2667754]

    Amazing script!! Can you also add total racing points ever earned on the main page, somewhere around the racing skill?

    Lugburz [2386297]

    Thanks!

    You mean "Racing points earned", that is displayed in the personal stats?
    You see, I don't know if it will add a lot of value... The thing is, the points earned number is only important while you are climbing through classes. Once you've reached class A, you start spending all your points on upgrading cars. Once you have a few fully upgraded cars, you stop paying attention, your points are just lying there. I honestly don't know how many spare points I have. The points earned number becomes irrelevant.

    I've just looked it up - my number is 5,651. What does it give me if I see it on my home page?

    Prezze [2121612]

    I think some people might like to see their daily point gain or daily rs gains (if possible)
    Version 0.4.4 displays daily RS and points gains. The numbers update when you open the racing page. No API key required.

    This feature obviously works best when using single device only. I did my best to avoid inaccuracies as much as possible, but with multiple devices, you may still see some unrealistic numbers when switching from one device to another.

    • Lugburz [2386297]
    • Role: Civilian
    • Level: 68
    • Posts: 760
    • Karma: 1167
    • Last Action: 7 minutes
      • 0
    • Reason:
      Are you sure you want to report this post to staff?
      Cancel
    Posted on 16:18:26 - 08/10/21 (3 months ago)
    Post link copied to clipboard Copy post link
    Version 0.4.6 adds flair for JLT races in preparation for upcoming JLT Autumn season.

    • Masterz [169332]
    • Role: Civilian
    • Level: 39
    • Posts: 31
    • Karma: 5
    • Last Action: 3 hours
      • 0
    • Reason:
      Are you sure you want to report this post to staff?
      Cancel
    Posted on 13:40:32 - 19/10/21 (3 months ago)
    Post link copied to clipboard Copy post link
    great script. why isn't this be added to the base function of the game?
    • SirEdge [2609907]
    • Role: Civilian
    • Level: 50
    • Posts: 2522
    • Karma: 1859
    • Last Action: 22 minutes
      • 0
    • Reason:
      Are you sure you want to report this post to staff?
      Cancel
    Posted on 21:37:03 - 19/10/21 (3 months ago)
    Post link copied to clipboard Copy post link

    Masterz [169332]

    great script. why isn't this be added to the base function of the game?
    Now that it has been shown to be possible, hopefully we can get just that.

    88325a84-98c2-374d-2609907.gif

    • Lugburz [2386297]
    • Role: Civilian
    • Level: 68
    • Posts: 760
    • Karma: 1167
    • Last Action: 7 minutes
      • 0
    • Reason:
      Are you sure you want to report this post to staff?
      Cancel
    Posted on 17:26:44 - 31/10/21 (2 months ago)
    Post link copied to clipboard Copy post link
    Since racing skill has recently been made public, version 0.5.0 of the script discontinues the feature of sharing your RS and viewing RS of others through a third-party database.

    Instead, you can now use your API key to see RS values as they are stored in Torn - which means the values are always accurate (well - up to the integer, that is) and up-to-date.

    Upgrade to version 0.5.4 right now!
    https://github.com/f2404/torn-userscripts/raw/master/racing_show_speed.user.js



    NB: There's a delay between each API call to avoid exhausting the 100 calls/min limit, so fetching RS values will take some time when there's a bunch of people in the race.
    Last edited by Lugburz on 12:35:10 - 01/11/21
    • Braxlaw [2319642]
    • Role: Civilian
    • Level: 85
    • Posts: 135
    • Karma: 100
    • Last Action: 4 minutes
      • 0
    • Reason:
      Are you sure you want to report this post to staff?
      Cancel
    Posted on 19:06:46 - 31/10/21 (2 months ago)
    Post link copied to clipboard Copy post link
    Nice Update!
    I like it
    • SirEdge [2609907]
    • Role: Civilian
    • Level: 50
    • Posts: 2522
    • Karma: 1859
    • Last Action: 22 minutes
      • 0
    • Reason:
      Are you sure you want to report this post to staff?
      Cancel
    Posted on 14:23:03 - 01/11/21 (2 months ago)
    Post link copied to clipboard Copy post link

    Lugburz [2386297]

    Since racing skill has recently been made public, version 0.5.0 of the script discontinues the feature of sharing your RS and viewing RS of others through a third-party database.

    Instead, you can now use your API key to see RS values as they are stored in Torn - which means the values are always accurate (well - up to the integer, that is) and up-to-date.

    Upgrade to version 0.5.4 right now!
    https://github.com/f2404/torn-userscripts/raw/master/racing_show_speed.user.js



    NB: There's a delay between each API call to avoid exhausting the 100 calls/min limit, so fetching RS values will take some time when there's a bunch of people in the race.
    It's a bummer to lose your database and the increased accuracy of having something past the decimal point.  I was hoping you'd just use RS to overwrite old or missing RS values, but that would be a lot more work than just pulling current RS.

    Anyway, thanks for the script!
    Last edited by SirEdge on 14:37:02 - 01/11/21

    88325a84-98c2-374d-2609907.gif

    • Lugburz [2386297]
    • Role: Civilian
    • Level: 68
    • Posts: 760
    • Karma: 1167
    • Last Action: 7 minutes
      • 0
    • Reason:
      Are you sure you want to report this post to staff?
      Cancel
    Posted on 14:35:22 - 01/11/21 (2 months ago)
    Post link copied to clipboard Copy post link

    Lugburz [2386297]

    Since racing skill has recently been made public, version 0.5.0 of the script discontinues the feature of sharing your RS and viewing RS of others through a third-party database.

    Instead, you can now use your API key to see RS values as they are stored in Torn - which means the values are always accurate (well - up to the integer, that is) and up-to-date.

    Upgrade to version 0.5.4 right now!
    https://github.com/f2404/torn-userscripts/raw/master/racing_show_speed.user.js



    NB: There's a delay between each API call to avoid exhausting the 100 calls/min limit, so fetching RS values will take some time when there's a bunch of people in the race.

    SirEdge [2609907]

    It's a bummer to lose your database and the increased accuracy of having something past the decimal point. I was hoping you'd just use RS to overwrite old or missing RS values, but that would be a lot more work than just pulling current RS.

    Anyway, thanks for the script!
    I have considered this, but I really don't think maintaining the database and the two similar but different and also conflicting systems would be worth it. Displaying two additional decimals for some selected racers probably isn't that significant after all.
    • xedx [2100735]
    • Role: Civilian
    • Level: 90
    • Posts: 719
    • Karma: 519
    • Last Action: 13 minutes
      • 0
    • Reason:
      Are you sure you want to report this post to staff?
      Cancel
    Posted on 23:15:06 - 03/11/21 (2 months ago)
    Post link copied to clipboard Copy post link
    I have a small usability issue with 5.4. What seems to happen is that the API calls in 'getRacingSkillForDrivers()' exceed the limit of 100/min. That's by itself OK. But, each error appends itself to the previous error - a line below the previous on, resulting in the image below. I traced the error so I know it's there (in that call) - that seems to be the only place that error is generated.

    I'm in a JLT race with 45 racers - I can repro by refreshing the race. The errors continue off the screen, that's all that would fit in a screenshot :) I PM'd you the same, but posted here in case others notice this.



    • Lugburz [2386297]
    • Role: Civilian
    • Level: 68
    • Posts: 760
    • Karma: 1167
    • Last Action: 7 minutes
      • 0
    • Reason:
      Are you sure you want to report this post to staff?
      Cancel
    Posted on 13:59:15 - 04/11/21 (2 months ago)
    Post link copied to clipboard Copy post link

    xedx [2100735]

    I have a small usability issue with 5.4. What seems to happen is that the API calls in 'getRacingSkillForDrivers()' exceed the limit of 100/min. That's by itself OK. But, each error appends itself to the previous error - a line below the previous on, resulting in the image below. I traced the error so I know it's there (in that call) - that seems to be the only place that error is generated.

    I'm in a JLT race with 45 racers - I can repro by refreshing the race. The errors continue off the screen, that's all that would fit in a screenshot :) I PM'd you the same, but posted here in case others notice this.



    Yeah, thanks for letting me know about this! It should be fixed in 0.5.5 which has just been released.

    The other issue you've been seeing - with the replay functionality - should also be fixed. The script will not be running multiple instances of the update function anymore which will allow to handle API call delays properly.

    Update Nov, 5:
    Version 0.5.6 fixes an issue when the update function would sometimes fail to fetch RS value and skins - this happened when the drivers list wasn't ready (was empty) at the time the function was called.


    TLDR: Everyone should upgrade to 0.5.6: https://github.com/f2404/torn-userscripts/raw/master/racing_show_speed.user.js
    Last edited by Lugburz on 12:16:46 - 05/11/21
    • real_mister [1949201]
    • Role: Civilian
    • Level: 85
    • Posts: 201
    • Karma: 114
    • Last Action: 3 minutes
      • 0
    • Reason:
      Are you sure you want to report this post to staff?
      Cancel
    Posted on 09:44:19 - 06/11/21 (2 months ago)
    Post link copied to clipboard Copy post link
    @lugburz I'd like to make a suggestion: Could you please mark the race tracks descriptions or even append a string to their titles with general info regarding if they are considered short or long ratio, dirt or tarmac or maybe I dunno turbo 2 or turbo 3 (according to RD_'s Racing Guide "2.0")?

    I know it kinda comes down to preference whether a track is considered A or B, and that dirt tracks are easy enought to spot, and that there are other guides out there, etc. but I thought to suggest something along those lines anyways. It would help people who can't quite remember the track specs such as myself.

    Maybe a waste of words and time
    Never a waste of life

    -Uncle Tupelo

    • QuinnCarr [2596583]
    • Role: Civilian
    • Level: 55
    • Posts: 1046
    • Karma: 224
    • Last Action: 2 minutes
      • 0
    • Reason:
      Are you sure you want to report this post to staff?
      Cancel
    Posted on 19:38:13 - 09/11/21 (2 months ago)
    Post link copied to clipboard Copy post link
    Ok as it looks like I can choose not to have results shown beforehand I think I will actually get this script. More fun if you don't know imo!
    • Lightor [2215463]
    • Role: Reporter
    • Level: 75
    • Posts: 534
    • Karma: 435
    • Last Action: 20 minutes
      • 0
    • Reason:
      Are you sure you want to report this post to staff?
      Cancel
    Posted on 21:45:40 - 09/11/21 (2 months ago)
    Post link copied to clipboard Copy post link

    real_mister [1949201]

    @lugburz I'd like to make a suggestion: Could you please mark the race tracks descriptions or even append a string to their titles with general info regarding if they are considered short or long ratio, dirt or tarmac or maybe I dunno turbo 2 or turbo 3 (according to RD_'s Racing Guide "2.0")?

    I know it kinda comes down to preference whether a track is considered A or B, and that dirt tracks are easy enought to spot, and that there are other guides out there, etc. but I thought to suggest something along those lines anyways. It would help people who can't quite remember the track specs such as myself.
    You can also name your cars if you dont know what to choose or write it in your Torn notes as I see you have donator status

    • Lugburz [2386297]
    • Role: Civilian
    • Level: 68
    • Posts: 760
    • Karma: 1167
    • Last Action: 7 minutes
      • 0
    • Reason:
      Are you sure you want to report this post to staff?
      Cancel
    Posted on 16:01:02 - 17/11/21 (2 months ago)
    Post link copied to clipboard Copy post link
    Version 0.5.12 displays position icons (cups) for the racers in first 3 places, to help find the winners while the race is ongoing - especially helpful for big races with lots of participants.

    Note!
    If you are using my script that adds links to racers' profiles, you need to update it to the latest version - it won't work with this change otherwise.
    If you don't use it, then you should start! :) https://github.com/f2404/torn-userscripts/raw/master/racing_profiles.user.js


    Link to update this script: https://github.com/f2404/torn-userscripts/raw/master/racing_show_speed.user.js

    Last edited by Lugburz on 13:16:38 - 18/11/21
    • WAGA [681394]
    • Role: Civilian
    • Level: 100
    • Posts: 908
    • Karma: 1214
    • Last Action: 48 minutes
      • 0
    • Reason:
      Are you sure you want to report this post to staff?
      Cancel
    Posted on 17:18:13 - 17/11/21 (2 months ago)
    Post link copied to clipboard Copy post link

    Lugburz [2386297]

    Version 0.5.12 displays position icons (cups) for the racers in first 3 places, to help find the winners while the race is ongoing - especially helpful for big races with lots of participants.

    Note!
    If you are using my script that adds links to racers' profiles, you need to update it to the latest version - it won't work with this change otherwise.
    If you don't use it, then you should start! :) https://github.com/f2404/torn-userscripts/raw/master/racing_profiles.user.js


    Link to update this script: https://github.com/f2404/torn-userscripts/raw/master/racing_show_speed.user.js

    LEGEND

    Image and video hosting by TinyPic

    • Lightor [2215463]
    • Role: Reporter
    • Level: 75
    • Posts: 534
    • Karma: 435
    • Last Action: 20 minutes
      • 0
    • Reason:
      Are you sure you want to report this post to staff?
      Cancel
    Posted on 17:32:46 - 17/11/21 (2 months ago)
    Post link copied to clipboard Copy post link
    Love the newest update

Reply
Thread Title: