Web Accessibility Initiative (WAI) - Page 10 | Bugs & Issues |…
Web Accessibility Initiative (WAI)
    • RoxiiFoxii [2416273]
    • Role: Civilian
    • Level: 46
    • Posts: 82
    • Karma: 39
    • Last Action: 1 hour
      • 0
    • Reason:
      Are you sure you want to report this post to staff?
      Cancel
    Posted on 09:45:10 - 11/08/22 (5 months ago)
    Post link copied to clipboard Copy post link
    Hi there;
    Thingsi noticed
    1) can not change tabs in facations
    2) casino does not work
    iphone on 15.7
    • Damia [975347]
    • Role: Civilian
    • Level: 94
    • Posts: 501
    • Karma: 26
    • Last Action: 22 days
      • 0
    • Reason:
      Are you sure you want to report this post to staff?
      Cancel
    Posted on 19:14:07 - 02/09/22 (4 months ago)
    Post link copied to clipboard Copy post link
    Disappearing beer bought 100, put in armory,
    blinked, gone. Cannot find anywhere.

    In log, they’re still there.

    thanks for listening,

    Sorry if this is wrong place to post
    • Iqbal- [2810152]
    • Role: Civilian
    • Level: 24
    • Posts: 8
    • Karma: 0
    • Last Action: 2 months
      • 0
    • Reason:
      Are you sure you want to report this post to staff?
      Cancel
    Posted on 15:54:44 - 06/09/22 (4 months ago)
    Post link copied to clipboard Copy post link
    Can't add cash to trade ;(
    • Pslewth [2130661]
    • Role: Civilian
    • Level: 57
    • Posts: 67
    • Karma: 8
    • Last Action: 1 minute
      • 0
    • Reason:
      Are you sure you want to report this post to staff?
      Cancel
    Posted on 20:00:33 - 07/09/22 (4 months ago)
    Post link copied to clipboard Copy post link
    Greetings everyone and sincere best wishes to you and yours this day I do have a very serious issue to report concerning web access as it relates to the game sometimes quite frequently at least once or twice a week I only May access the game via the new game app t o r n app not the web browser was just wondering if this was a bug a common one or was it not a bug but it is something that I thought needed to be addressed as it does occur to myself at least twice a week
    • Raiyvin [1585789]
    • Role: Civilian
    • Level: 90
    • Posts: 264
    • Karma: 33
    • Last Action: 46 minutes
      • 0
    • Reason:
      Are you sure you want to report this post to staff?
      Cancel
    Posted on 17:07:09 - 05/10/22 (3 months ago)
    Post link copied to clipboard Copy post link
    windows 10 with nvda,
    think posted this before but the ool downs of everything use to show and they don't show any longer, can you please get this working once again?
    thank's Raiyvin
    • VioletStorm [2233317]
    • Role: Civilian
    • Level: 15
    • Posts: 1359
    • Karma: 1417
    • Last Action: 14 days
      • 0
    • Reason:
      Are you sure you want to report this post to staff?
      Cancel
    Posted on 21:52:09 - 15/10/22 (3 months ago)
    Post link copied to clipboard Copy post link
    Can we have an option to revert the text colour to be as bright as it was before? The low contract is really difficult to manage. Call it a high contrast mode?

    • DurzoBlint [1478478]
    • Role: Civilian
    • Level: 50
    • Posts: 17
    • Karma: 15
    • Last Action: 9 hours
      • 0
    • Reason:
      Are you sure you want to report this post to staff?
      Cancel
    Posted on 14:09:39 - 17/10/22 (3 months ago)
    Post link copied to clipboard Copy post link
    Items in the city do not appear to have proper labels, which make it impossible to retrieve them if you use a screen reader. I've tried in both Chrome and Firefox with NVDA, but I haven't been able to find a method to detect which elements are items.

    I hope this one can be resolved. I've got 520M worth of items waiting to be collected.



    Thanks for working on accessibility.
    • TYMinion [557703]
    • Role: Committee
    • Level: 95
    • Posts: 573
    • Karma: 959
    • Last Action: 4 hours
      • 0
    • Reason:
      Are you sure you want to report this post to staff?
      Cancel
    Posted on 07:37:14 - 30/10/22 (3 months ago)
    Post link copied to clipboard Copy post link
    This is my latest post I made, looking for a new job in Torn. You find this on peoples profiles, where the number of posts are linked to show all the posts made by said person.



    Now I can't screenshot the problem, I could take a video and demonstrate if more info is required here. I use Windows 11 with the Microsoft magnifier app which now has the "Select to speak" merged where you hold down CTRL + Alt, click somewhere, and the area will read aloud.

    I've just zoomed out a little to show the above paragraph, it boarder's whilst it reads it aloud, the key here too is that it is a paragraph being selected:




    So paragraphs read very easily, unless they have a break in, like a span tag, link, a little annoying but I've learnt to work around, however torn has a bug somewhere which is a bit odd, we need to look into the code on this page for me to explain what is happening, the problem I am experiencing and why it's a bug;



    Where in my original post, I typed a paragraph, on this page only, every single letter, for some reason, is wrapped in it's own span tag, so, with the Windows magnifier, I can only click on a litter one-by-one, it will not read a single word, however, if you go to the original post;



    The page is displaying it completely different, how I initially posted, I am able to select the paragraph and Microsoft will read it to me. Just to also show a snippet of the code too:




    This makes searching through my own posts rather tedious at times, not sure how this plays out with other screen readers or whatnot, as I know MS isn't the best, but when Torn has it working on the actual linked post, I feel Torn can easily adapt for this.

    Bug happens on: https://www.torn.com/forums.php#!p=search&q=by:557703&f=0&y=0

    Doesn't have to be my posts, can be anyone's, however strangely, despite appearing to point to the same php directory file, when you use Torn's search, it does not occur, eg; https://www.torn.com/forums.php#!p=search&f=0&y=0&q=test

    Also managed to find the same post via Torn's search just to showcase as well:

    • TYMinion [557703]
    • Role: Committee
    • Level: 95
    • Posts: 573
    • Karma: 959
    • Last Action: 4 hours
      • 0
    • Reason:
      Are you sure you want to report this post to staff?
      Cancel
    Posted on 19:51:36 - 30/10/22 (3 months ago)
    Post link copied to clipboard Copy post link
    As much as I'm worried about losing the text editor plug-in Torn uses for mails and other areas such as faction announcements (purely for their HMTL input they allow), unlike Torn's version, whilst editing, like my previous post just a few above, I am unable to use the Windows text-to-speech on the editor area. I've been filled in with progress on the new system, I'm just wondering with it being a plug-in, perhaps there have been updates to help VI users. Composing lengthy faction newsletters, I find myself copying to the likes of Discord to play back, as being able to touch-type, strangely I think of words but sometimes spell completely different words 

    Just now for this post, so much ease, I've listened to what I have typed, not needed to magnify more trying to go through what I've done, but I do understand otherwise

    • DurzoBlint [1478478]
    • Role: Civilian
    • Level: 50
    • Posts: 17
    • Karma: 15
    • Last Action: 9 hours
      • 0
    • Reason:
      Are you sure you want to report this post to staff?
      Cancel
    Posted on 21:04:01 - 03/11/22 (2 months ago)
    Post link copied to clipboard Copy post link
    Has the bazaar layout been changed in the last day or so?

    Items now appear as individual buttons to NVDA, and trying to view the stats on a weapon is incredibly frustrating. The focus constantly jumps around. Even something as simple as buying something is more difficult now because you have to use NVDA's object navigation to click on the buy button.
    • VioletStorm [2233317]
    • Role: Civilian
    • Level: 15
    • Posts: 1359
    • Karma: 1417
    • Last Action: 14 days
      • 0
    • Reason:
      Are you sure you want to report this post to staff?
      Cancel
    Posted on 10:01:09 - 26/11/22 (2 months ago)
    Post link copied to clipboard Copy post link
    Torn really does need a high contrast mode

    • LordofFire [2411517]
    • Role: Helper
    • Level: 89
    • Posts: 1479
    • Karma: 1794
    • Last Action: 2 hours
      • 0
    • Reason:
      Are you sure you want to report this post to staff?
      Cancel
    Posted on 09:53:16 - 30/11/22 (2 months ago)
    Post link copied to clipboard Copy post link
    Issues reported on High Low game in Casino: screenreader just reads the word 'dealer' letter by letter and doesn't read the card. Probably because it's an image. People using a screenreader just need to guess each time what card the dealer gets.

    • rhiannone [2868362]
    • Role: Civilian
    • Level: 16
    • Posts: 2
    • Karma: 0
    • Last Action: 36 minutes
      • 0
    • Reason:
      Are you sure you want to report this post to staff?
      Cancel
    Posted on 15:31:25 - 28/01/23 (4 days ago)
    Post link copied to clipboard Copy post link
    Hello,

    I placed some items on item market for $6000 each. When I went to view my listings, my reader read it as $600. I had a staff member check it for me and they said it showed up correctly. So, it was just an issue for the screen reader. I have noticed that this happens on my listings if the item name is more than 13 characters. So far, it seems to only affect my own listings. Viewing listings by others seems unaffected.

    Using Windows 11 and built in narrator, ms edge browser.

    - unable to detect items in the city.
    - unable to use casino aside from lottery.
    - unable to send mail.
    - unable to make use of the distraction counter in combat.
    - unable to make use of the skull indicating overdose/addiction risk.
    - unable to activate/deactivate channels i.e. global, faction,company, etc.
    -- I can manage these channels on the android app but not pc.
    -- I AM ABLE to close private chat boxes on pc and androi.

    I have tried using chrome, but with narrator chrome does not read many vital controls. This is not a Torn issue, it's windows narrator/chrome. I only mention it because I have noticed many players use chrome with other screen readers, and may not have the same issues I am having.

    On the android app, I tried several things like finding items in city and casino with no luck. Navigating through the app using talk back is unreasonably complicated and slow. Using fcommunications on the app are stressful and excessivly time consumeing. So I cannot really use the app other than for opening/closing channels.

    I realize there has been and continues to be improvements made to accessability on the site. Thank you for that. If anyone has any pointers for me concerning these issues, please share.

    **Edit

    -cannot use notebook, which is frustrating since I pay for the service.
    -The stocks page reads to me that each stock has risen/fallen by a given amount, but does not indicate if it has + or -. I just get the number value that has changed.
    Last edited by rhiannone on 22:41:10 - 29/01/23
Reply
Thread Title: