Skip to content
  • To view the full website,
    you can click here at any time
Safely modifying signature [TUT]
  • Nova Cazio [585240]Cazio [585240]
    • Cazio [585240]
    • Status: Civilian
    • Level: 57
    • Posts: 1421
    • Karma: 90
    • Last Action: 2 hours
    • Quote
    • Report
    • 0
    • Reason:
      Are you sure you want to report this post to staff?
      REPORT Cancel
    • You have rated this thread. Rating limit has been reached.
    Thread created on 16:58:50 - 28/06/14 (5 month ago)
    |
    Last replied 18:11:14 - 31/07/14 (4 month ago)
    Some of you may have noticed a glitch the signature system although in my opinion it's one of the best features, the formatting issues let it down. I recently put a lot of effort into making a signature and later on when I edited it my page looked corrupted. So I figured I'd put this thread together to stop others from making the same mistake, especially those who spend hours mocking up theirs.

    Here's an example of what I'm talking about.

    On a fresh signature with no content, adding text and an image for the first time!


    So far so good! Alright, so let's change those details and see how it looks on the profile!

    Alright! So far so good. But wait, what if I want to add more to the signature? Well this is where people start running into problems, let's take a look at why.


    As you can see the image has been replaced by a box full of back lashes, this is obviously a format issue but does that mean my sig is broken or can I continue adding images?

    Well. Here's the answer.


    As you can see the first image has disappeared but the new one has been added successfully, until you try to add another!

    Now there's a rather simple solution to this problem until it's patched. (Remember this is for signatures made after RESPO, not how to salvage an old signature) When you start making your signatures and you want to sample the design, or finish off the work - ALWAYS use the drop down menu arrow next to "Tools" and click Source code, copy and paste the code because on a fresh signature it has none of the format issues.


    As you can see there are no backlashes or anything else that isn't supposed to be there. Once you're happy with your work, copy and paste all the content inside this box into a txt file and save it. When ever you make future modifications delete all content inside the signature box and replace it with the code in the text file and then continue to edit your signature normally, remember to back it up again after and update your notepad! This method should work for all edits/changes, images were the most convenient to use for this tut. 

    This is a temp solution until dev's get around to fixing it, if there's anything you don't understand please leave a comment and I'll try to explain it. Cheers!
    Last edited by Cazio on 17:07:06 - 28/06/14
  • SMTH Blitzburgh [582646]Blitzburgh [582646]
    • Blitzburgh [582646]
    • Status: Civilian
    • Level: 81
    • Posts: 757
    • Karma: 172
    • Last Action: 7 hours
    • Quote
    • Report
    • 0
    • Reason:
      Are you sure you want to report this post to staff?
      REPORT Cancel
    • You have rated this post. Rating limit has been reached.
    Posted to on 21:03:33 - 28/06/14 (5 month ago)
    Thanks for the tip.
  • PT LethalKiss [1801948]LethalKiss [1801948]
    • LethalKiss [1801948]
    • Status: Civilian
    • Level: 15
    • Posts: 451
    • Karma: 151
    • Last Action: 19 minutes
    • Quote
    • Report
    • 0
    • Reason:
      Are you sure you want to report this post to staff?
      REPORT Cancel
    • You have rated this post. Rating limit has been reached.
    Posted to on 14:30:12 - 31/07/14 (4 month ago)

    Thanks for sharing..
    Nice info.
    Rated + and Bump.

  •   -Monkey- [892675]-Monkey- [892675]
    • -Monkey- [892675]
    • Status: Civilian
    • Level: 39
    • Posts: 475
    • Karma: 206
    • Last Action: 41 minutes
    • Quote
    • Report
    • 0
    • Reason:
      Are you sure you want to report this post to staff?
      REPORT Cancel
    • You have rated this post. Rating limit has been reached.
    Posted to on 18:11:14 - 31/07/14 (4 month ago)
    I used to do this too on a pages document, but now it seems to be fixed so I don't need to anymore. I still do just incase though lol

    Last edited by -Monkey- on 18:11:27 - 31/07/14